International Mirror Class Association of Tasmania.

Toll Tasmania: Supporting Tasmanian Mirror Sailors





2017 State Championship - Deviot Sailing Club 18th and 19th March 2017

The 2017 State Championship is sccheduled to held at Deviot Sailing Club on the 18th and 19th of March. The Notice of Race, Sailing Instructions and Entry Form are now available, along with the Mirror Class Association Membership Form if you are not already a member.

Don’t be scared off by the fact that this event is a State Championship. All levels are welcome! For those that are travelling, feel free to enquire about nearby camping accomodation that may be available.

The AGM is also scheduled to be held on the Saturday night (or sometime over the weekend if we are waiting for wind). Please consider a position on the committee.

So make the most of what should be a fun weekend - See you at Deviot !


Mirror Class National Championship - Kingston Beach Sailing Club 27th to 31st December 2017

The 2017 Mirror Class Nationals are schedule to be held at Kingston Beach Sailing Club in December of this year. Pleas consider how you may be able to assist in making this event a success for participants and associated visitors. While December may appear a while of yet, the planning and preparation of this event will help this be an enjoyable sailing experience for all.


2016 MacIntyre Cup Kingston Beach Sailing Club 3rd and 4th December 2016

The weather gods shone favourably on us at Kingston Beach for the MacIntyre Cup which was held over the weekend of 3rd and 4th December. (Except perhaps on Saturday morning which was pleasant but too shifty and light to get in any racing.)

PRO David Graney did a fantastic job to get in 3 races on Saturday afternoon and 5 on Sunday before 2pm.

As usual, the cream rises to the top, and Jess Andrewartha (nee Atherton) with her father Grant crewing, won convincingly (although they did have one 3rd).

The MacIntyre Cup is a Handicap Regatta and First Place on Handicap went to Ya Ya Maceddie and Lew Ottoway (Deviot SC/Scotch Oakburn) who also took out First Youth.

2nd on Handicap was Zara Broomby and Johanna Cameron (Deviot SC/Scotch Oakburn), and 3rd on Handicap Loki and Pippa Bird.

Loki and Pippa (KBSC), also won the 1st Junior, with Pippa taking out the Rookie Crew award as well.

Many thanks are extended to the team of helpers both on and off the water. Without you, we couldn’t run the event.

Full Results can be found here.




July 2017 - World Chamiponship UK

Winder Boats are providing charter boats for the UK Mirror Worlds in July next year, the details of which can be viewed here.

Winder Boats has asked that anyone who is contemplating chartering a boat get in touch with them as soon as possible. They will be building charter boats to order, so they need to know asap as their building schedule will get full very soon with the approaching UK summer season.


2015 World Chamiponship South Africa

The 2015 World Championships was held at Theewater Sports Club, Villiersdorp, South Africa from the 28th December 2014 to 9th January 2015.

A fleet of 59 boats participated in the event with South Africans Michaela and Ryan Robinson successfully defending their World Title.

Australian father and son team Simon and Tyson Barwood sailing Bulletproof finished second overall. The next Australian boat was Douglas and Charlotte Raftesath who finished 7th place overall, with other Australian boats finishing 16th, 24th, 34th and 35th. Full details of Results can be obtained here.




Mirror Nats 08



Mirror Class Measurement Rules



A full set of measurement rules is available on the ISAF website at:





Yachting Australia Boat Registration Reminder

Yachting Australia have issued a reminder to all Mirror sailors that it is necessary for International Mirror Class Dinghies to be not only the holders of a measurement form but that that form should also be lodged with the YA. (Accompanied with a small fee of $35.)

When an International boat changes hands the new owner needs to lodge a change of ownership form with YA. A copy of this form is then returned to the Association.

The forms are available on the YA website Member Service>Download Standard forms> Recognised Class Transfer of Ownership Form

While the Australian Class constitution allows boats measured under Australian rules to compete in National regattas only International boats can compete in World titles. Please note that the YA reviews results posted on the websites for National and State regattas

To quote from the constitution:

    The Class Rules of Measurement of the IMCAA shall be the current International Mirror Class Rules issued under the authority of the ISAF with the exception that for racing at National level or below boats shall comply with the current Class Rules or the Class Rules in effect at the time they were built.  

    Notwithstanding, boats constructed before 1 March 1990 (and not re-built or substantially modified after that date) may race at National level or below without a measurement certificate provided the hull was constructed from a kit supplied by a registered supplier and has not undergone substantial modification or replacement of the original construction material.

Any problems with this site?
Email Mirror.Tas




Notices and Results

2017 State Championship Entry

2017 State Championship Notice of Race

2017 State Championship Sailing Instructions

2016 IMCAT Membership Form

2017 AGM Agenda

2016 MacIntyre Cup Results

Results 2016 State Championsips